Cover image of Sengoku Basara
Poster of Sengoku Basara

Sengoku Basara


During Japan's Sengoku period, several powerful warlords fought in politics and in arms with hopes of unifying the country under a central government. Nobunaga Oda had asserted himself as being the most powerful of these rulers by possessing the strength and military resource necessary to conquer all of Japan.

Shingen Takeda and his trusted warrior Yukimura Sanada led one of the main clans standing in Nobunaga’s way. One night, Sanada had been ordered to lead a sneak attack against General Kenshin Uesugi, which was then thwarted by Masamune Date and his army. Sanada and Date fought to a draw, which forged a heated rivalry out of their newfound admiration for one another.

Nobunaga continues to exert his forces in Sengoku Basara by doubling down on his influence across the country. Sanada and Date find themselves having to put their differences aside in order to quell the rise of Nobunaga and save feudal Japan from his tyrannical reign. Magical, militant, and political powers fly forth as these warriors and leaders clash amongst themselves and the armies of Nobunaga.

English: Sengoku Basara: Samurai Kings

Type: TV

Episodes: 12

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Apr 02, 2009 to Jun 18, 2009

Season: Spring 2009

Studio: Production I.G

Duration: 23 minutes


Sengoku Basara Two
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2010

Alternative Setting

Gakuen Basara
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2018

recommendation or anime you might like

Sengoku Otome: Momoiro Paradox
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2011
Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann
TV - 27 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2007
Souten Kouro
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2009
Samurai Champloo
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2004
Oda Cinnamon Nobunaga
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2020
Basilisk: Kouga Ninpou Chou
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2005
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2016
Kingdom 2nd Season
TV - 39 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2013
TV - 201 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2006
Ao no Exorcist
TV - 25 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2011
Naruto: Shippuuden
TV - 500 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2007
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken (TV)
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2012
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2001
Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2017
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2012
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2010
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2006
Episodes (0)