Cover image of Kure-nai
Poster of Kure-nai


Shinkurou Kurenai is a 16-year-old student by day and a dispute mediator by night. Though kind-hearted and patient, due to his tragic past, he has trained for years to live on. Now, despite his unimposing appearance, he is a strong martial artist, who also possesses a strange power.

While taking various jobs for his employer, Benika Juuzawa, one assignment leads Shinkurou to live with Murasaki Kuhouin as her bodyguard. Murasaki is the seven-year-old daughter of a plutocratic family, who escaped her home under peculiar circumstances with Benika's help. Commoner life, in her eyes, seems bizarre. However, by interacting with her neighbors, she grows more accustomed to the daily routine, and rids herself of her snobbish behavior, gradually growing attached to Shinkurou.

Though many details of the job remain unclear, Shinkurou still strives to protect the young lady. But to make things more complicated, he also lacks a crucial fact—what is the real threat against Murasaki?

English: Kurenai

Synonyms: Crimson

Type: TV

Episodes: 12

Status: Finished Airing

Aired: Apr 04, 2008 to Jun 20, 2008

Season: Spring 2008

Studio: Brain's Base

Duration: 25 minutes

Alternative Setting

Kure-nai OVA
OVA - 2 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2010

recommendation or anime you might like

Seirei no Moribito
TV - 26 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2007
Usagi Drop
TV - 11 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2011
Hayate no Gotoku!
TV - 52 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2007
Natsume Yuujinchou
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2008
Full Metal Panic!
TV - 24 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2002
Papa no Iukoto wo Kikinasai!
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2012
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2008
Tokyo Godfathers
Movie - 1 Episode (Finished Airing)
Fall 2003
Udon no Kuni no Kiniro Kemari
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Fall 2016
Witch Craft Works
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2014
Hitsugi no Chaika
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2014
Dantalian no Shoka
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Summer 2011
Inu x Boku SS
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2012
Koi Kaze
TV - 13 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2004
Boku dake ga Inai Machi
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Winter 2016
TV - 12 Episodes (Finished Airing)
Spring 2012
Episodes (0)